Ukrainian Russian English
"Our unity brings us to strong Europe, strong EU and strong Ukraine", Arseniy Yatsenyuk in Aachen
29.05.2014 | 14:15
Department of Information and Communication of the Secretariat of the CMU

On Thursday, May 29, Prime Minister of Ukraine Arseniy Yatsenyuk took part in the International Charlemagne Prize award ceremony in Aachen, Germany. The Prize received President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy.

Arseniy Yatsenyuk addressed to the President of the European Council: "Let me call you friend. You are a friend of Ukraine, a friend of the European Union, you are a man of great dignity and great respect. "

Herman Van Rompuy, noted the PM, "led the EU through very difficult times - the economic crisis, security challenges": "But you have achieved success because of your strong position, your ability to create a real compromise, maintain and manage."

The PM stressed that the people of Ukraine remember the high contribution of the President of the European Council in maintaining peace and stability in Ukraine.

"We need peace. Nobody has the right to revise the results of the Second World War, nobody has the right to abuse the UN Charter and draw up new borders and erect new walls in Europe", Arseniy Yatsenyuk emphasized.

The Prime Minister noted that Herman Van Rompuy "entered into the history of Ukraine after the signing of the political part of the Association Agreement with the EU."

Arseniy Yatsenyuk stressed the need to "think about a new Europe–a larger one": "We understand the consequences of the EU enlargement. But it's not just about expanding through the inclusion of new countries - we need to deepen our values. We must fight for peace and freedom-and that is our duty. That’s what the people of Ukraine ask."

"I am convinced that we will achieve success. Our unity will bring us to strong Europe, the strong EU and strong Ukraine ", said Arseniy Yatsenyuk.


The International Charlemagne Prize has been awarded once a year since 1950 by the German city of Aachen. It is the oldest and most prestigious award that used to be given to political and public figures or institutions that have made outstanding contributions to the development of Europe and European integration.

Amid its recipients were, in particular, the Federal Chancellor of Germany K.Adenauer (1954), Prime Minister of Great Britain Sir Winston S. Churchill (1956), European Commission President Jacques Delors (1992), U.S. President Bill Clinton (2000), Pope John Paul II (extraordinary Award 2004), Federal Chancellor of Germany Angela Merkel (2008), Lithuanian President Dalia Grybauskaite(2013).

The 2014 Charlemagne Prize Laureate is President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy.

The 2014 award ceremony was attended by Lithuanian President Dalia Grybauskaite, Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Garibashvili; Moldovan Prime Minister Iurie Leanca and European Central Bank President Jean-Claude Trichet.

print version